November Birchbox Review – Giving

No picture this month as I was on my way out of town when the box arrived and gave away a few of the samples before I could snap a pic! I actually received TWO duplicated samples, but am not a bit upset about it because one of them was chocolate, and hey, I love chocolate, and the other was eye makeup remover and you can never have enough of that!

Juice Beauty Green Apple Sensitive Skin Peel
At first, I was surprised by the consistency of the product. I thought it would drip off my skin after application because it is watery, but that is not the case. After a few minutes the peel tingled slightly. It does smell like apples, which is nice! I will have to use this a few more times to see if it makes a noticeable difference to my skin. After one use it didn’t irritate & seemed to improve the texture a bit.

Selfie showing eyemakeup
I used the Laura Mercier liner along my lower lash line for a pop of color at a charity ball a few weeks ago. Didn’t seem to budge even with hours of dancing!

Laura Mercier Longwear Creme Eye Pencil- Violet
LOVE this color as it pairs perfectly with my red hair, fair skin & green eyes! It certainly is a long wear eyeliner, but doesn’t have a creme consistency as the name implies. Takes several swipes to get a dark, rich color, but I wasn’t really expecting it to apply easily if it was actually a long wear product!

Toni & Guy Classic Shine Gloss Serum
I already have extremely shinny hair & never use any products besides hairspray. I only use it around once a week or less! I did like that the formula wasn’t super heavy, but I don’t like using hair products, so I won’t purchase! The sample size was large enough for me to probably use this for a year. Love the fact that the pump twists to lock it closed, so this is very travel friendly.

Camille Beckman Platinume Gold Imperial Repair Hand Therapy
I actually use my daily face moisturizer on my hands each morning that includes SPF and don’t ever need to use lotion during the day or at night except for maybe once a month. Smell is not my favorite. I gave this to my mom as she uses lotion several times a day.

MAKE Dual-Phase Eye Makeup Remover
I received a sample of this in my March 2013 box as well and it has just now run out. I obvioulsy do not use makeup remover very often, but it is necessary to have some around just in case. I like it, but probably will not purchase as it is an oil based formula which can flare up acne-prone skin.

Chuao Chocolatier Assorted ChocoPods – Maple Bacon
These are cute, but I think they are overpriced. Possibly a good item to have on hand as a last minute gift, but I’d end up eating them all… Maple bacon was delicious. Would you like these chocolates as a hostess gift?

As you can probably tell by my comments on the products above, I have extremely sensitive, oily, acne-prone skin. I’ll be expounding on my skincare issues in a later post, but would like to know: How do you remove heavy eye makeup without irritating your skin or flaring acne?

Leave a Reply

