Quick Tomato Jerk Crab Stew

This past weekend, I was going through my pantry and saw some Chicken of the Sea canned crab that has been there for over a year. I’m not really sure why I purchased it, as I don’t typically purchase items at the grocery store unless they are on my list for a specific recipe. After visiting the Chicken of the Sea website for recipe inspiration, I concocted the stew below!

Quick Tomato Jerk Crab Stew

Cook Time: 30 minutes
Prep Time: negligible!

Ingredients:

1 can Rotel Original
1 bag frozen corn
1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed & drained
1 can tomato sauce
1 tablespoon Jerk Seasoning – I used Bobby Flay’s version with half the sugar.
1 can crabmeat
Optional: rice, mango parsley for serving

Method:
Add rotel, tomato sauce, corn and garbanzo beans to large pot on medium heat. Bring to a simmer and reduce heat. Meanwhile, Make Jerk Seasoning according to Bobby Flay’s dry rub recipe (above). Add 1 tablespoon of rub to the pot, stir well and simmer for at least 20 minutes. The longer it simmers, the more the spices will have time to absorb. Add crabmeat and simmer an additional five minutes. Serve over rice, garnish with fresh mango and parsley.

Tips: I mixed the spice seasoning in an old salsa jar, that way all I had to do was give it a few shakes to combine the spices and I am keeping the excess for future recipes!

The above is adapted from this recipe. I did not have the rice base and I am lactose intolerant so I opted for a tomato base for the stew. I also only had crabmeat on hand. I did not take any pictures, as the canned crab I used was finely minced and it does not look very appetizing! Next time I make this, I’ll use lump crab and possibly some frozen shrimp or other seafood. I considered adding coconut milk to stay true to the original cream base of the recipe, but after tasting the tomato sauce with the spices, it was very sweet. 

💁 -Jenn

 

Leave a Reply

