Unscented Sunscreen & Facebook Page

I finally decided that this blog needed its own social media. I hate posting excessively to my own Facebook because I know not all of my Facebook friends want to follow my blog!! If you’d be so kind to click up there^ to pull out the sidebar for links to follow me on Facebook & Twitter that’d be GREAT!

For the launch of my Facebook Page, I asked my friends if there’s a topic in particular that they’d like me to blog about.

A friend asked “I’m fair skinned, so I need to wear sunscreen every darn day. Yet, it stinks. Any suggestions?

This is a FANTASTIC question! Being a fair-skinned redhead, daily SPF protection is a MUST for me too! Something to note, I do not feel that your daily sunscreen needs to be water proof or sweat proof. I think those products are often too heavy for your skin for daily use and most do have strong scents. I’d look for a dual or tripple action product specifically for your face like a SPF moisturizer or tinted moisturizer with SPF. You can then also use this product on your hands and neck!

Since I have oily, sensitive and acne-prone skin, I use a moisturizer every morning that includes SPF 30 broad spectrum protection and is suitable for my skin type. I first found Cetaphil DermaControl Moisturizer at Target, but as stores often do, they only carried it for a few years. I now purchase it on Amazon and save a few dollars off the suggested retail price. One pump of this bottle give enough product to cover my face, hands and wrists. A bottle lasts me about two months! My only gripe so far, at 4oz, this is just over the TSA maximum for liquids in your carry on. Also, when perusing the internet the other day for products good for sensitive skin a dermatologist comments ” I do not believe I have ever seen a reaction to basic Cetaphil lotion in 30 years of practice”.

Other daily face products that I’d recommend:

Any Neutrogena moisturizer with SPF – I used one or another of these for several years, I don’t remember them having much of a smell. Some of these may be hard to find in stores, but Ulta/Sephora typically has a better selection than Target. Then you could always purchase an amazon to get a better deal once you find one you like!

COOLA SPF 30 Unscented Face Moisturizer  – I received a sample of the tinted version in my Birchbox a few months back, sadly, the sunscreen ingredient, titanium dioxide, clogs my pores! But, with 4/5 stars in the Birchbox shop, I’d say it is a pretty good product. Plus, it is included in this list along with the Neutrogena, see below, from one of my favorite websites, HowToBeaRedhead.com!

Aveeno – I used an Aveeno unscented face moisturizer with SPF prior to finding the Cetaphil one I now use. I only switched to Cetaphil because I had a hard time finding it in stores and now I cannot even find an unscented moisturizer on their website! I cannot stand the scent of the rest of their face products, although it is not an icky sunscreen scent, just a light floral? scent.

Dr Jart Black Label Detox BB Beauty Balm– I almost didn’t include this product. I also received a sample in my Birchbox a few months back. But I neglected to do a blog post on that box, whoops! I used it once. And it clogged my pores. Which led me to do a bit of research and figure out that titanium dioxide can clog pores. But, since this is the brand product that started the whole BB cream craze, I wanted to include it. With 4/5 stars on Birchbox, it probably works for most people!

Waterproof & Sweat Proof Sunscreen recommendations:

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunscreen, SPF 45 – This is the ONLY sunscreen I’ll wear when I’ll be out in the sun for more than a hour! Waterproof, sweat proof, broad spectrum and won’t clog pores. I have a spare bottle stashed in my car for emergencies! While, this is scented, I don’t use it everyday so it doesn’t bother me much!

Coppertone Clearly Sheer – I haven’t even used this, but I am wanting to try it as the Neutrogena does leave my skin feeling a bit sticky. This was also included in the list from How to be a Redhead! I have no idea if it is scented!

Do use any of these products or have a different daily sunscreen recommendation?

-Jenn

Leave a Reply

