Eye Shadow Creases Even With Primer – Solution!

As of my last post, I was still having issues with eyeshadow creasing even with the addition of Smashbox 24hr photo finish Eye Primer. With the recommendations from some friends, I did two things different and it seems to have solved my creasing problems!

I used the same shadow & liner from my previous posts for continuity. Read the first one here and second here. After all, to really test a products or techniques effectiveness, you need to keep as many variables constant as possible… NERD ALERT, scientific method for the win!

So what are the things I did different in trials 1, 2 & 3? Trial 2 & 3 include the same makeup products. But I changed these two things from Trial 2 to Trial 3 to solve my creasing issue!

  •  Moisturize eyelids everyday.
  •  Use a brush to apply the primer, rather than fingers!
Comparison of Trials
Details on the other products I used here .

Summary of the Trials:

  1. No primer.
  2. 24 Hr Smashbox Photo Finish Eye Primer applied with fingers.
  3. 24 Hr Smashbox Photo Finish Eye Primer applied with brush on moisturized eyelids. Details on the other products I used here.

I did notice that the shadow seemed to darken by the end of the day, not a big deal to me and it also could have been due to the lighting!

Eyeshadow with Primer - Morning
In the morning, just after completing the look.
12 Hours Later! No Movement!
12 HOURS later! No Movement of the shadow or liner!

Word to the wise, if you have dry skin, I do not recommend this Smashbox primer, it is very drying. But, this works great for my oily skin! Also, be sure to give the primer 5 minutes to dry before applying your liner or shadows.

-Jenn

2 thoughts on “Eye Shadow Creases Even With Primer – Solution!

    1. Bahahaha, one minute would probably work too! I typically apply the eyeshadow primer right after washing & moisturizing my face. Then I’ll move on to foundation, brows and/or hair while it dries!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

