April 2015 Birchbox Review

I was too tempted by the gorgeous print developed by Rifle Paper Co Founder – Anna Bond, her Instagram is delightful – to skip the Birchbox Plus upgrades this month! In my studying haze (more on that in a future post) I splurged and added these adorable pocket notebooks and the insulated tumbler, which I didn’t think was too overpriced at $20 for three while the other choice, a canvas bag, was priced at $28! Apparently everyone else loved the tumbler too, because it isn’t even available for purchase on the Birchbox shop at regular price.

If you’re wondering what Birchbox is, head over here to my previous post, BIRCHWHAT?! You can also see all my previous reviews by clicking on my handy dandy sidebar and selecting the “Subscription Boxes” category from the drop down. Currently, Birchbox is the only subscription I am receiving.

Now, onto the deets for my April 2015 products: It was perfect weather this past weekend, so I snapped a picture of my box in my yard!

April 2015 Birchbox

WEI – Manuka Bee Venom Mask
Summary: While it may sound scary, the purified venom in this mask is gentle and nourishing and combines with healing herbs to help fight wrinkles, correct imperfections and firm skin.
Review: Frankly, I am terrified to use this mask. I have sensitive skin. I have SENSITIVE SKIN. Why would they send me this? Please let me know if you have used it! So far, I’ve only heard from one person… and they had a horrible reaction.

Harvey Prince Hello
Summary:
An energizing mix of citrus and floral that will keep you optimistic even when you get up on the wrong side of the bed.
Review: Not for me. Citrus with the wrong type of floral. Upside: I’ll never want to sample this perfume in the future!

POP Beauty – Eyeshadow Trio
Summary:
Peach Parfait – a shimmery trio that includes a light cream highlight, golden medium tone and bronzy gold deep tone.
Review: I love this shadow trio that I picked for my sample choice; I like to call it Peachy Keen! I knew these shades would look fantastic with my skin tone, but totally didn’t realize how perfect the bronzed gold would match the golden specks in my eyes! I used these with a shadow primer (a must for my oily skin) and they added pigmented, shimmery color!

Number 4 – Volumnizing Shampoo
Summary: Sulfate free, designed to turn fine, flat hair into rich, full-bodied hair.
Review: I was so disappointed to get another product from this brand after I had the worst cystic acne in my life from using their Super Comb Prep & Protect.

Temple Spa – Peace Be Still Calming Face & Body Balm
Summary: Blend of aromatherapy and skincare, with a soothing fragrance from essential oils and an infusion of botanicals to nourish skin.
Review: I am tired of all the lotions. I don’t use body lotion. I don’t put anything with fragrance on my face. Gave this one away already.

I would like to note that I have tweaked my beauty profile a bit after seeing the products that were picked for me this month. I only have the makeup check box selected in my beauty profile and this box included ONE makeup item, my sample choice. I am hoping the tweaks will help me get products I’ll actually be able to use. The only one in this box was my sample choice, the eye shadow. Sad day!

Again, please let me know if you have used the WEI Bee Venom Mask! I’d like some detailed feedback before I even consider trying it!

7 thoughts on “April 2015 Birchbox Review

  1. Love your April review of Birchbox and glad that at least ONE product, the eye shadow worked for you!! I wish I could have tried the Wei Mask, I love No. 4 products on my relaxed hair, and I love lotions!! So glad you posted your review 🙂

    Ursula, aka Blueridge Beauty

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

