May 2015 Birchbox – A Saga of the Missing Mascara

The May 2015 Birchbox was curated by Emily Schuman of Cupcakes & Cashmere. Theme: ELEVATE EVERYDAY. Questions about Birchbox, well, by golly, I’ve got answers over here!  You may notice that I have six samples reviewed this month. Typically, most Birchbox subscribers only get five. Sometimes six (or seven) will be included because one (or two) will be foil packets. Onto the reviews. Or, scroll down past the first picture for more on the saga of the missing mascara!

Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel
Summary: The acid free formula gently sloughs away dead skin cells. Suitable for all skin types, this pH-neutral protein peel gently exfoliates without irritating sensitive skin.
Review: I have yet to use this peel. I’m in a wedding next weekend, so I’ll hold off on even patch testing this until after the wedding. There is a hilarious YouTube video of someone trying the peel for the first time! Go watch, trust me, it is totally worth it.

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo
Summary: Think of this dry shampoo as a shot of espresso for your strands.
Review: Woah! With a description like that I am sad to say I had a skin reaction to the Amika Blowout spray, so I’m not going to risk testing this dry shampoo. I’ve already got a friend who wants this sample!

Kerastase Elixir Ultime – Prime
Summary:  This lightweight elixir is fortified with a unique combo of four essential oils to leave strands super shiny and manageable.
Review: I am also sad to say that I have had issues in the past with hair products with fragrance giving me acne, so not going to try this now. Maybe I’ll try it in the future, but I may also give the away to a friend.

CoTZ Flawless Complexion SPF 50
Summary:
This sunscreen offers acne-prone skin the broad-spectrum SPF it needs without pore-clogging oils, harsh chemicals, or a sticky-sweet fragrance.
Review: I was so disappointed by this sunscreen. This leaves a horrible shine on my skin. I like everything about the product except how it looks. I did some reading about the SPF40 products, which according to the description has a sheer matte finish, but are not as suitable for acne-prone skin. You can’t win them all apparently. And I thought the neutrogena sheer dry tough sunscreen was greasy looking!

W3LL PEOPLE The Expressionist Mascara
Summary: This all-natural, pro-grade formula, can take less-than-fluffy natural lashes to new extremes without subjecting them to harsh chemicals or dyes. The clump-resistant wand lifts and separates lashes, while the nutrient-rich formula coats them with luxe, glossy color.
Review: I’ve been intrigued by W3LL People for some time now & was so excited to get a sample in my box! The brush on this mascara is great. Lots of short bristles to really define your lashes. Plus, the brush gets thinner at the tip, so it’s perfect for really coating & defining your lower lashes. It does not give as much volume as I typically like, but after waiting 30 seconds for the first coat to dry, a second one amped up my lashes wonderfully. Only gripe, I exclusively wear waterproof mascara.

Coastal Scents Reveal3d Pallet Sampler – Quad in Desert Bloom
Summary: The colors in the sample are light dusty rose pink with gold & red shimmer, deep (almost bronzy) gold shimmer, darker dusty rose (not quite mauve) shimmer & matte warm light brown. See swatches.

Coastal Scents Revealed 3 - Desert Bloom Quad Swatches
Coastal Scents Revealed 3 – Desert Bloom Quad Swatches. Not sure what was going on with the lighting in the picture on the right. The top swatches are the same as the ones on the bottom left. Color intensity really improves with the use of a primer!

Review: The shadow sample is quite small, but honestly, I’ve never been able to finish an entire eye shadow at normal size, so I do not have an issue with them being small. I do think it would be perfect to pack for traveling. However, I wrote that before I swatched the colors. Sadly, you need a TON of shadow to get any color payoff. I had to load up my brush twice to get a reasonable amount of shadow to stay on my skin. I added Smashbox 24 hour Photo Finish Eye Primer & the shadow payoff improved dramatically.

Saga of the Missing Mascara

 

I ALWAYS peek at my samples as soon as I can! So this month, here’s what my preview looked like.

Keratase, Amika, Real Chemistry, W3LL People & Cotz. Nice well rounded box with lots of new-to-me brands!
Keratase, Amika, Real Chemistry, W3LL People & Cotz. Nice well rounded box with lots of new-to-me brands!

 

When I opened my box a few weeks ago, I was immediately surprised to see the Coastal Scents Pallet Quad! It was one of the samples I’d seen in others boxes that made me jealous.

Birchbox Sample Madness!
Birchbox Samples that arrived in my box for May 2015. Missing the W3LL People Mascara, but SURPRISE I did get the Coastal Scents Reveal3d Pallet!

 

To add to the mystery, my sample card was missing sample descriptions, but said go to the website to learn about your samples, which still listed the W3LL People Mascara. Since I am a thrifty Birchbox subscriber, my immediate thought about the mixed up box contents was “Oh no! How am I going to review the pallet?” Thankfully, after I e-mail customer service they sent me a replacement mascara (HOORAY!) and let me e-mail them a review of the pallet for points too. One thing I am aware that may be an issue in the future: will I receive the Coastal Scents Pallet Quad in another box? Was it added to my account that I’d received it already? Only time will tell!

Have you had issues with your Birchbox contents? What was your resolution?

8 thoughts on “May 2015 Birchbox – A Saga of the Missing Mascara

      1. I use Klorane with nettle. It is supposed to be good for oily hair and is so lightly scented that it doesn’t bother my allergies. It is a bit more expensive than I’d like, but that’s the only thing I don’t like about it. So until I can find a dupe, I’m sticking with it!

        Like

    1. Yes, but I’m allergic to like half the things they send. No big deal, just something I’ve always had to deal with! I love Birchbox because I can try new products without wasting money on unused full sized items. I hate returns & always forget to take them back. I have lots of friends I pawn samples off on!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

