June 2015 Birchbox Review

Adventure - June 2015 BirchboxJune Birchbox Theme – ADVENTURE!

You may be asking yourself, just what exactly is Birchbox? Well, take a peek over here for details! Typically, only five samples arrive each month… but I was lucky enough to get SEVEN, yes 7, this month. I am excited for the extra review points! Sadly, due to the mix up from last month, I received a duplicate sample. Not crazy about the Coastal Scents Quad, but hey, at least I get double points for it.

June 2015 Birchbox Review
Say Yes.. to Birchbox? A bit strange on this design. Forgot to include the Klorane Mango Conditioner that was in a foil packet in the picture.

Supergoop! – Everyday SPF 50

Summary: Broad spectrum chemical sunscreen with antioxidants to repair & nourish skin. Oil-free formula absorbs quickly for a breathable, nongreasy protection.
Review: No synthetic fragrance means this could be a winner for my picky skin, but the inclusion of some essential oils could be potentially irritating. Since this is a chemical sunscreen, it doesn’t leave a white cast and does absorb quickly!

Klorane – Shampoo with Mango Butter

Summary: Packed with cold-pressed mango butter, each bottle contains rich fatty acids that replenish and moisturize dry hair while providing a thorough cleanse.
Review: I purchased trial sizes of the Klorane oat milk shampoo in my quest to find hair products that do not irritate my skin. Sadly, the Klorane formula gave me scalp acne, so I’m going to skip trying this and give it away.

Klorane – Conditioning Balm with Mango Butter (not pictured, foil packet)

Summary: Free of sulfates, parabens & silicones, this mango-infused wonder moisturizes, detangles and improves softness & shine.
Review: As noted above, the oat milk shampoo & conditioner gave me scalp acne. I am looking for a conditioner that doesn’t cause acne so I tried this. Even with flipping my head to condition & rinse without allowing any product to touch my neck or shoulders I still got acne from using it once. The quest continues…

Dr. Jart+- Dermaclear Microwater

Summary: Easy to use, all in one cleanser. Unique blend of active hydrogen mineral water and ninety percent natural ingredients that instantly removed impurities and makeup without irritation.
Review: I have yet to use this, but am planning to place it on my bedside table for those nights when I don’t have the energy to wash my face. It is supposedly suitable for sensitive skin, but we shall see!

Marcelle – Waterproof Eyeliner in Indigo

June 2015 Birchbox Marcelle Eyeliner Swatch
Swatch of the Marcelle Eyeliner in Indigo & Supergoop Sunscreen.

Summary: Bendable waterproof eyeliner goes on smoothly and stays put.
Review: If you’re a subscriber, you’ll know that with the Sample Choice & Birchbox Plus reveal, it was announced that everyone would be getting a new Eyeko liquid liner. Due to a shipping delay, the eyeliner was not included in this months box, but they were able to substitute this Marcelle waterproof pencil. As far as I know, Birchbox never made a formal announcement regarding the substitution, but scrubbed the announcement from their website, which has irked a few subscribers. Honestly, I’m not that perturbed. I understand the logistical nightmare that Birchbox deals with on a monthly basis. I am just happy to have received another eyeliner. I have allergies, so waterproof is a MUST. The color indigo is a navy blue, but a hint of shimmer. Overall, a decent liner. It does stay put and isn’t too terrible to apply. Comparing this to the other waterproof pencils I’ve used, this is easier to apply but does go on a bit uneven, so don’t expect to be able to wear a small amount unless you want to smudge/blend the liner for consistent pigmentation.

Coastal Scents – Revealed 3 Quad in Desert Bloom

June 2015 Birchbox Coastal Scents Revealed Desert Bloom SwatchSummary: The colors in the sample are light dusty rose pink with gold & red shimmer, deep (almost bronzy) gold shimmer, darker dusty rose (not quite mauve) shimmer & matte warm light brown. See swatches. Not sure what was going on with the lighting in the picture on the right. The top swatches are the same as the ones on the bottom left. Color intensity really improves with the use of a primer!
Review: The shadow sample is quite small, but honestly, I’ve never been able to finish an entire eye shadow at normal size, so I do not have an issue with them being small. I do think it would be perfect to pack for traveling. However, I wrote that before I swatched the colors. Sadly, you need a TON of shadow to get any color payoff. I had to load up my brush twice to get a reasonable amount of shadow to stay on my skin. I added an eye primer & the shadow payoff improved dramatically.

Pura Vida – Lace Headband

Summary: The only thing better than headbands that don’t leave your head in a vice grip? Headbands that are comfy to wear and help charities that matter.
Review: As someone else mentioned… it looks like the elastic waist of girls underwear. Plus, who though that orange color would look good with red hair? Probably donating this to Good Will.

Thanks for reading! Remember to follow me on instagram for a bit of nerdy ridiculousness.

Has anyone else noticed a decline in customer service with Birchbox?

2 thoughts on “June 2015 Birchbox Review

  1. Enjoyed your review of your BB June box…I wanted to try that hair product but I went with Limited Edition The Tig instead!

    Ursula aka Blueridge Beauty

    Like

    1. So far, I haven’t purchased a curated box yet. None of them have really blown me away. I get more excited about the sample choice with four (or more) surprise samples!

      Like

Leave a Reply

