Second Month with Seven Samples – July 2015 Birchbox

July 2015 Birchbox - Theme: Go Bold!
July 2015 Birchbox – Theme: Go Bold!

Yes, that’s right. This is the 2nd month (in a row) that I’ve received seven samples! What does that mean, extra points for me. Confused, have questions about Birchbox, or the points program, well, by golly, I’ve got answers over here!

July’s theme, Go Bold, is perfect for summer. Just look at the box! I just wish the items in my box were all just a vibrant, but there are a few possible winners as I mention below.

Stila – Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick

Summary: Creamy, matte formula glides on like a gloss with staying power of a stain. Bonus: not supposed to dry out your lips. Color: Venezia (bright coral)
Review: VIBRANT color, but takes some technique to master the application. Not all that impressed with the staying power. May need to try with a lip primer for optimum results. It also dried out my lips considerably. Not THAT impressed.

Macadamia Professional – Weightless Moisture Leave-In Condition Mist

Summary: With fine hair, it can be difficult to find a product that conditions without weight it down. This lightweight spray detangles and protects to give hair a weightless, snag-free finish.
Review: The size of this sample is HUGE! I haven’t tried this yet, been having some hair issues and am trying to minimize my products. Plus, fragrance is a bit too high on the list of ingredients for me to really be enthusiastic about it. Yay allergies! However, reviewers on birchbox.com gives this 4.5 of 5 stars, so it may be worth trying.

R+Co Atlantis Moisturizing Shampoo

Summary: This superhydrating shampoo is loaded with restorative botanicals. Ideal for thick, coarse, dry or color treated strands.
Review: Received a foil packet sample. I completely meant to bring it on vacation with me and forgot, so it will be added to my stash for my next trip. My hair isn’t that dry, so pretty sure this will be too heavy.

R+Co Atlantis Moisturizing Conditioner

Summary: Balanced moisturizing formula to prevent greasy build up while nourishing your locks. Lightweight formula won’t leave hair feeling slick or weighted-down. Ideal for thick, coarse, dry or color treated strands.
Review: Received a foil packet sample. I completely meant to bring it on vacation with me and forgot, so it will be added to my stash for my next trip. My hair isn’t that dry, so pretty sure this will be too heavy.

Harvey Prince Hello Body Cream

Summary: One whiff, and you may just find yourself the most popular person in the room. Infused with the best-selling Hello Perfume (citrus & floral) the light shea butter formula softens and smooths dry skin.
Review: I don’t like the Hello Perfume, so I’m not sure why they included this sample in my box. Going to give this one away!

Supergoop!® Anti-Aging City Sunscreen Serum SPF 30

Summary: Light yet powerful serum fulfills your everyday need of SPF. Both a moisturizer and a broad-spectrum SPF 30, if fights the signs of aging and future photo-damage too! A chemical sunscreen duo is paired with Hydrovotin 24 complex and vitamins to protect, moisturize and heal. Plus, it is noncomedogenic and paraben and fragrance free!
Review: The consistency of this is more like a lightweight lotion than a serum, but it does absorb quickly into my skin. I love that it is unscented and noncomedogenic! I have been looking for an everyday moisturizer/sunscreen to replace my current one and this just might be it. Still need to test it under makeup. Only time will tell how my skin reacts to the formula too. Boo for delayed acne skin reactions!  Lightweight SPF + moisturizer + fragrance free: YES, please!

English Laundry Eau de Parfum No. 7 for Her

Summary: Tweak of the men’s No. 7 blend for the ladies to be bright & fruity with alluring hints of masculine musk.
Review: I never wear perfume, I don’t think I even smelled this one. I’ll be giving this away or donating it to a women’s shelter.

Finally, I’ve got a question for you. What is your favorite way to go bold this summer? As the box insert card reads… summer is “the season of wearing brights on brights on brights”!

Thanks for stopping by – Jenn

5 thoughts on “Second Month with Seven Samples – July 2015 Birchbox

  1. I LOVE the Supergoop! sunscreen serum so much –this summer it’s all I’ve worn on days that I don’t need waterproof sunscreen.
    And while I actually love Harvey Prince Hello, I think the body lotion smells completely different on my skin and I’m not a fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bah! I forgot to mention that it’s not waterproof! I’m loving the serum too right now, just hope my skin loves it in a few months too. Interesting about the lotion. I don’t use scented lotions anyways.

      Like

Leave a Reply

