Why I choose to eat Gluten-Free even without an official Celiac Disease Diagnosis

I didn’t want to be another person jumping on the gluten-free fad.

I’ve had digestion issues since college. Several years ago, one of my coworkers had an allergy to dairy, so I did a bit a research and thought that I was lactose intolerant. After eliminating all dairy from my diet, I was still having some issues.

So finally in April of 2014 I took the plunge and eliminated gluten (oh beer, how I miss you) from my diet too. I cheated weekly for the first six months, but then I noticed that my nails were growing stronger and I no longer pulled out a ball of hair each time I showered. I also wasn’t bloated all the time! Coincidentally, after many bouts of tonsillitis, I had my tonsils removed in October so I opted to eat gluten during recovery from surgery and for the 2014 Holiday season. I had my blood tested for Celiac disease in December. The antibodies test came back negative, but I do carry one of the genes for Celiac disease. However, being a carrier of a gene doesn’t mean that I have the disease. Low and behold, after I’m tested I realized that the recommended amount of gluten to consume daily is equivalent to four¬†slices of bread for a whole month!

Since I have noticeable health effects when consuming gluten, and I don’t want to pay $500 (thanks, Obamacare) to be re-tested I chose to eliminate gluten from my diet. More information about screening for Celiac Disease.

While it has made eating out and social events challenging, I am much healthier and happier without gluten!

Note about the featured picture:¬†Going gluten free hasn’t been easy. Until recently I’d avoided the gluten-substitute ingredients, including pasta. I didn’t realize how much I MISSED it! I started with Annie’s Rice Pasta & Cheddar. Made it a full meal by adding ground turkey, onions, roasted bell peppers, baby spinach & topping it with freshly grated Parmesan cheese!

Leave a Reply

